Conference Update: #caDH, GDC, HASTAC, ASA

It’s been another busy conference season this year, facilitated by the time and funding of the Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship, the UCSB Department of English Graduate Student Travel Grant, the Virginia Commonwealth University MATX Program, and the International Game Developers Association. I hope to write up a proper review of the VCU Critical Approaches to Digital Humanities Symposium soon, which took place last weekend in Richmond, Virginia, and was a small and generative symposium organized by David Golumbia (VCU) and Jennifer Rhee (VCU/Emory)

For now, I would encourage anyone who is at the Game Developers Conference in San Francisco this year to shoot me a tweet if you’d like to meet up. GDC is prohibitively expensive for most academics, but I was pleased to see that the cheaper Expo pass covers many panels of interest to developers and researchers interested in gender and sexuality in the industry. I’m looking forward to attending these sessions.

Next month, I’ll be headed to HASTAC in Lima, Peru, to give a talk on critical platform studies with Anne Cong-Huyen (UCLA), Josh Honn (Northwestern), and Beatrice Choi (Northwestern). My paper will look at indie gaming platforms and how they have facilitated a boom in queer game development. Tara McPherson will be responding to the panel. HASTAC is always a productive conference for me, and I look forward to seeing the digital humanities community in a Latin American context. The location will make it difficult for many people in the US to attend, but it will hopefully facilitate networking for other members of the international DH community. Thank you to the Department of English for partially funding my trip.

Finally, I’m excited to announce that the game studies panel I organized with Bonnie Ruberg (UC Berkeley) has been accepted for this year’s American Studies Association Conference in Los Angeles this November. The panel is titled “Digital Deaths and Disenfranchisements: Reading Pleasure, Pain, and Politics in Video Games,” and features myself, Ruberg, Steven Pokornowski (UCSB), and Jordan Youngblood (UF), with Lisa Nakamura (UM) responding. ASA has a few game studies panels every year, and I’m very excited that we are among them.

More soon.

Leave a Reply

